The Federal Government has reversed its decision to halt the transfer of electricity regulatory oversight to state governments.


The Minister of Power, Adebayo Adelabu, during a two-day stakeholders workshop focused on the implementation of the Electricity Act, said the move follows a recent announcement of plans to pause the transfer of regulatory autonomy to states and conduct a test phase with select states.


According to him, the move sparked confusion regarding the minister’s authority to issue such a directive against the Act, but Adelabu clarified that the federal government would adhere to the law and not proceed against it.


In April, oversight of the electricity market was transferred by NERC to three states: Ondo, Ekiti, and Enugu, as mandated by the Electricity Act, which requires NERC to do so within six months after a state follows the prescribed legal process.


Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *