President Bola Tinubu has written the Senate to confirm the Central Bank of Nigeria Governor, Olayemi Cardoso, as the chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee of the apex bank.

Some of the 12 persons appointed to the committee are; Deputy Governors of the apex bank, Muhammad Abdullahi, Bala Bello, Emem Usoro, Philip Ikeazor, Director General, Securities and Exchange Commission, Lamido Yuguda.

Others are; “Lydia Shehu Jafiya, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance (member),  Muritala Sabo Sagagi, CBN director (member), Alloycius Uche Odu (member), Aku Pullen Odukemelu (member), Mustapha Akinwunmi (Member) and Bamidele A.G. Amuh (member).”

President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio referred the letter to the Senate Committee on Finance, Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions for further legislative action and to report back in one week.

Also, Tinubu nominated Kelechi Ohiri for appointment as the Director-General of the National Health Insurance Authority as well as Yomi Fasua as the Commissioner, National Population Commission.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *