Security has been beefed up as the Presidential Election Petitions Tribunal in Abuja commences pre-hearing of the petitions challenging the outcome of the February 25 presidential election.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission, Bola Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress polled highest votes to win the election, While Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party came second and Peter Obi of labor party cam third.


Earlier, Action Alliance (AA) and its Presidential Candidate in the election, Solomon David Okanigbuan had notified the tribunal of their intentions to withdraw their petition against the declaration of Tinubu as Nigeria’s President-elect after the unveiling of the tribunal.


Other petitions slated for the pre-hearing session are those of the Action People’s Party (APP), people’s democratic party and labor party which has Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the All-Progressives Congress (APC) and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as three respondents.


The court pre-hearing resumed at about 9:15 am with an opening remark by the Presiding Justice Haruna Tsammani, who leads a five-man panel of Justices.


Other members of the panel include Justice Stephen Adah, Justice Misitura Bolaji-Yusuf, Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo and Justice Abbah Mohammed


Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *