The Defense Headquarters has directed all Senior officers with above Nigerian Defense Academy Regular Course 39 to proceed on voluntary retirement.


in a statement from the Defense Headquarters on behalf of the Chief of Defense Staff, Major General Christopher Musa, the affected officers are to submit their retirement applications to their respective service headquarters no later than on Monday, July 3, 2023.


According to military tradition, senior officers are unlikely to take orders from their juniors, thus the new appointments necessitate the compulsory retirement of about 100 top officers, including Generals, Brigadiers-General, Air Vice Marshals, and Admirals in the Nigerian Army, Navy, and Air Force from the Force.


Meanwhile, the new Chief of Defense Staff, Major General Christopher Musa is a member of 38 regular courses while the Chief of Army Staff, Major General Taoreed Lagbaja, the Chief of Naval Staff, Rear admiral, Emmanuel Ogalla, and the Chief of Air Staff, and Air Vice Marshal, Hassan Abubakar are members of 39 regular course.



This development comes on the heels of the appointment of the new service chiefs by President Bola Tinubu.

Written by:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *